Bootmaker and Saddlers’ Shop, Neerim South

Old Gippstown’s shoemaker’s building comes from the Main Street of the relatively small town of Neerim South, where it was built in 1906. The bootmaker there was Samuel Fry, who later moved his business to Warragul, leaving the shop to become a dressmaker’s and then a private residence. Many of the tools in the shop come from the work tools of Harry Coombs, who was Moe’s bootmaker from 1910 to 1966. The building was relocated to Old Gippstown in 1974. This building comprises of the original old shop with a counter and antique shoe making and shoe displays, including an old Singer boot making machine. A recently added rear room extension has showcases containing displays of ladies’ side saddles and Lighthorse saddles.

View more Buildings below

Take a tour of our Heritage Buildings using our interactive Park Map

Old Gippstown Buildings: